Thank you…Really

It’s funny here in the DOC.

Granted, I haven’t been as active as I once was. But I always know we’re all here and I can always come back. I wish I came back more often…that I could take part in FFL and the Roche summit so I could actually meet so many of you.

Recently, I was inspired by some “real life” experiences to, once again, re-up my membership to the DOC. All the FFL pictures and posts have also contributed. But, really, my actual experiences are the ones that have made me so grateful for what we have.

My work situation right now is not ideal (but we can discuss that some other time). Due to this less than ideal situation, I am working in a lot of different locations and with a lot of different people. Thankfully, I love people so it’s actually good in that regard. I met a guy not too long ago in one of our stores; someone told me he had T1 too when they’d seen me injecting. I found it to be an interesting fact, but didn’t rush to go tell him I was T1 as well. A week or so later he saw me inhaling some Skittles and I said what a pain it was to be low at work. He did a double-take and asked if I’d just said “glucose” (apparently I said glucose in whatever I actually said…I was low, I can’t quite remember). I said yes, and then he was SO excited and asked a million questions and we talked about diet, low correctors, insulins…all the diabetes-lingo. Turns out I was the first person he’s met with T1. He has been T1 since he was 8 or 12 years old and I think he’s 21 or 22 now. I was shocked.

I first stepped into the online world of diabetes with Diabetic Rockstar, in January 2008. I double checked my dates, so I know I became a member of the DOC only 3.5 years after my diagnosis. I was so shocked by this whole new world that knew what I was experiencing and was SO grateful. This guy I met, he’s gone about 10 years without really knowing anyone with T1. TEN YEARS!!

Hands down, there’s no way I’d be even half as functional without the support I’ve gained from all of you.NO WAY. NONE.

Shortly after I met this guy, I met this girl. She too has T1. She’s on a Medtronic pump. We were at In-N-Out together, in the same group of people, but didn’t know each other very well, I took out my pen (we can also discuss my pump vacation later) and she was shocked too! We don’t talk much about T1, but being in the same general circle of friends, we had an instant connection. It’s odd, we’re not as close as I immediately became to all of you, but we definitely did have a sudden quasi-closeness.

I’ve always been grateful for everyone I’ve met through diabetes, especially those online. Crystal, Ashley and Sarah are some of my closest friends now…as well as so many others. It wasn’t until the last month or so that I’ve been able to see exactly how grateful I am.

You’ve been with me through figuring out diabetes. Dating with diabetes. Moving to a forest. My health falling apart in the forest. Moving back in with my parents because of my health falling apart. Becoming not just a diabetic, but having Crohn’s too. Family craziness. New dogs. New jobs. Everything. I could never have asked for better friends or a more accepting surrogate family.

I love all of you, you’re all amazing and matter so much to me!

…Sorry for being a giant sap.

About smashleeca

I am a lot of things...a Californian, a T1 diabetic, a Crohn's pt, a daughter, friend, former athlete, forever student, blogger, worker, and most of all life-embracer. That sounds corny...but I'll leave it. I'm just your average 24 y/o girl with a story to tell. View all posts by smashleeca

4 responses to “Thank you…Really

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 860 other followers

