Diabetes Art Day!

I’m definitely not an artist. And I wasn’t really brought up to appreciate art. As I’ve gotten older I’ve learned to respect it a bit more, and even enjoy it…just don’t ask me to go to a ballet or musical…I’ll fall asleep.

In school I’m making teeth. I’ll be a toothsmith. The thing that’s so great about it is that it’s the perfect marriage between art and science. It’s practical art!

My biggest issue with art has been it’s apparent impracticality. Diabetes Art Day proves all art can be practical.

You look at how many people it brings together, its therapeutic process and all the recycling that gets done. Anyone on a pump knows how absolutely un-environmentally friendly diabetes can be. Also, it’s a great gateway for non-DOC members to get educated.

Frankly I kind of forgot about it this year until the day of and made two plaster dental model bases to start my project. I did the model making, gluing, and drilling in class. At home I did the painting. My family is oddly pretty uneducated when it cones to diabetes, but when they saw my finished project it opened the door to some conversations…and an explanation of what D.A.Day is all about.

You probably still won’t see me frequenting any galleries, but Diabetes Art Day is definitely important and incredibly awesome.

Here’s my contribution this year:

image

About smashleeca

I am a lot of things...a Californian, a T1 diabetic, a Crohn's pt, a daughter, friend, former athlete, forever student, blogger, worker, and most of all life-embracer. That sounds corny...but I'll leave it. I'm just your average 24 y/o girl with a story to tell. View all posts by smashleeca

One response to “Diabetes Art Day!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 892 other followers

