I’m Snacking on Halls

Yep, the cough drop. Sugar Free Black Cherry. Bolused and everything.

There are a million things I have to say and nothing at the same time. 500 different things happening around me, yet I’m not really in control of any of it. This is my least favorite place to “be.”

I still haven’t read most of D-blog Day blogs from yesterday. Hopefully by Wednesday I will. (When I’ll most likely be on an actual computer again) But the “day” mad me think about the diabetic blogging community

Connecting with other diabetics who know what being high is like, being low is like and understand the daily frustrations and victories is absolutely fantastic. But. At the same time you’re identifying yourself as a diabetic for anyone to see. There’s nothing “wrong” with identifying yourself; you just open yourself up to judgment by others, potentially by those who are ignorant about diabetes. You run the risk of being labeled.

No one liked labels in high school, I still hate them. I AM a diabetic, I am not sick. I come from a challenging family, I am not crazy. I like recycling, I am not a hippie. I sleep in the middle of the day, I am not lazy. I have high cholesterol and neuropathy, I am not a senior citizen.

My point, I guess is this: I didn’t jump into the group of blogging diabetics until VERY recently and I’d been putting it off for quite some time because I didn’t want the “diabetic” label. I’ve been blogging since 2007, just very rarely about anything diabetes related. I’m very open about my diabetes, I just have issues with people knowing me as a diabetic first and then Ashley second. Granted I don’t always have a clear picture on who “Ashley” is, but I prefer she be known first.

Why did I finally join the blogging diabetics crew? Good question. Maybe because I realized I had something to say. Maybe because I’m tired about worrying about labels. Maybe because I’ve realized this part of the online diabetic community is awesome too. I don’t really know, so I can’t give a clear answer. Perhaps it’s a combination of all that and more.

Even though I’ve yet to read most of the D-blog Day blogs, I’m so happy to be a part of such a great group of people.

Sappy much? (I think this tends to happen as I recover from no good, very bad days)

But really, each one of us is different, yet we have one very large thing in common. Diabetes doesn’t discriminate. Yes, diabetes really sucks, pretty much everything about it sucks, but when you end up in the diabetes club, you join a very diverse group of people. That aspect is awesome.

(Overly sappy, maybe. But I’m happy to be able to say something positive…finally)

About smashleeca

I am a lot of things...a Californian, a T1 diabetic, a Crohn's pt, a daughter, friend, former athlete, forever student, blogger, worker, and most of all life-embracer. That sounds corny...but I'll leave it. I'm just your average 24 y/o girl with a story to tell. View all posts by smashleeca

2 responses to “I’m Snacking on Halls

  • Crystal

    Labels are for jars….we are Not jars. You are you, awesome. I am me. Uh….adjective to be determined at a later date.
    I’ve thought a lot about this too. I would love to disassociate myself, but I’m in it….so no clue if I could, can, should…

    Hope you feel better soon!

    • smashleeca

      You are fantabulous!

      I don’t think we can…or should disconnect. I just wish we could change the perspective that so many people have on diabetes.

Leave a Reply

