Low, Low, Low

Sunday was quite the day. My sugars were below 50 all day until about 12am Monday morning. It was a mess.

Had to call into work because I work by myself and really, I couldn’t even drive – safely.

Diabetes is never easy. Rarely behaves. And is always a pain in the ass to have. 

Not that there’s a day where diabetes isn’t around. But days like Sunday are the scary ones. My family has no idea what to do if I drop too high or too low. You can’t drive anywhere. Sometimes you don’t know you’re too low. I had juice – didn’t help. What happens when you do everything you can to the best of your ability and it still doesn’t “work”?

Typically I am a very controlled and thoughtful individual. I don’t cry, don’t get overexcited, think about every action before it’s taken…very even-keeled. When I have low sugars I am the complete opposite. It is such an uncomfortable state to begin with, but with the added bonus of emotions running wildly, I don’t even know how to handle myself.

The next day I discussed my lows with my mother, whose response was perhaps I was cured. My answer to her was a potentially needed basal rate adjustment was needed. She doesn’t even know what a basal rate is…but that’s a whole other story.

Thankfully I have mostly recovered. I am still waking up around 55, but I don’t really want to tweak anything without the doctor’s help. My schedule should be returning to a semi-normal one pretty soon as my last graveyard shift was Sunday night…the one I called into.

When I named this post, I totally had in mind that song  “down, down, down, down, down.” Know which one I’m talking about? No? I don’t know the words, other than “down,” don’t know the title and I certainly don’t know the artist. But that’s who was in my head at the time.

Well, it’s off to work with me!

About smashleeca

I am a lot of things...a Californian, a T1 diabetic, a Crohn's pt, a daughter, friend, former athlete, forever student, blogger, worker, and most of all life-embracer. That sounds corny...but I'll leave it. I'm just your average 24 y/o girl with a story to tell. View all posts by smashleeca

4 responses to “Low, Low, Low

  • Jillavieve

    Your Sunday sounds like my Friday and Saturday this wknd. Chronic lows are THE worst. Glad to hear you’re in better spirits. Hope that tomorrow you wake up to a beautiful 90.

    P.S. Jay Sean feat. Lil Wayne. What?! =)

  • tmana

    The first song I can think of with a lyric including the word “down” repeated is “Rock Lobster” by the B-52’s, but the first song I thought of was “Don’t Bring Me Down” (Frank thinks it may be by the Electric Light Orchestra (ELO)).

  • Cherise

    I’m sorry you are having terrible lows. I hope your Doc can help you out. The song your talking about I think is sung by Pitbull. Hope your doing better.

  • Kerri.

    Lows are tough – I am NOT a fan. And the tighter my numbers run, the less I feel the symptoms of those lows. It’s frustrating, for sure. 😦

    I hope your lows back off a bit and let you sleep peacefully!!

Leave a Reply

