A Poem for Your Artsy Pleasure

I Love D

I love dogs, yes I do

They are sweet, cuddly and love me too

I love drinking

Bubble and delicious diet Coke

Full and flavorful wine

Refreshing ice cold beer

Water too

I love dressing up

Oh wait, that’s a lie

Unless you count yoga pants

I love dressing down

Now this is true

Life in yoga pants and jeans is the best

…just not at the same time

I love doodling

Tap dancing ovaries

Buildings

Animals

People

Anything I see

…Or imagine

I love dancing

Late at night

In the kitchen

Or in an empty parking lot

…Or in a busy store

Best of all, I love D

Not dogs, doodling

Not dressing up

Nor dressing down

Or dancing or drinking

The thing I love very most is Diabetes

Through and through

I love the highs

I love the lows

I love theĀ ever presence

I love the counting

I love the blame

I love the guilt

I love the doctors

I love the lectures – random, professionals and friends

I love the exhaustion

I love the blood

I love the fear

I love the stress

I love the stares

I love the worry

Honestly, I don’t love D at all

What do I love more than dogs, dancing, dressing, doodling and drinking?

And certainly more than diabetes?

The diabetics

…well most of them anyhow.

Happy Diabetes Appreciation Day!

About smashleeca

I am a lot of things...a Californian, a T1 diabetic, a Crohn's pt, a daughter, friend, former athlete, forever student, blogger, worker, and most of all life-embracer. That sounds corny...but I'll leave it. I'm just your average 24 y/o girl with a story to tell. View all posts by smashleeca

Leave a Reply

