Fish Out Of Water

…Now I’m a fish IN water.

Not a real fish. I have not developed fins and gills. But, I have a pump! A pump that swims! (It doesn’t have fins or gills either) But it’s water proof!!!

It’s wonderful to swim without a time limit. Saturday night was the first time, Sunday the second. I LOVE it. I’m still working on the right basal rate, with time I’m sure I’ll figure it out. …That and how to keep water out of my ear!

After growing up on lakes and in pools it’s great to not have to worry. Honestly, NOT swimming has made me feel like a fish out of water. Minimed was a great pump, but I am SO loving Animas. Love, Love, Loving!

Now that I can swim without limitation, I have other goals. #1-Stop darkening my hair. How is this swimming related? The chlorine removes dye, so wasting my money on hair dye will be just that…a waste. (Lightening – yeah, that’s still going to happen) #2-Help my skin. SO tired of these breakouts. When I swam regularly I had very clear skin. Here’s to hoping! #3-Think. I’ve been known to think TOO much, but the thinking I do while swimming is mind-clearing and relaxing. #4-Keep my piercings clean. Weird, I know. But hoping the chlorine kills any AND all germs. And of course, #5-Lose my final 30lbs. I’d be happy with 20-25lbs, but 30 would be ideal.

Thrilled to be a fish IN water!

Saturday – 1300m

Sunday – 1600m

…A 1600 used to be my warm up. Sad. I’ll get there again…hopefully sooner rather than later.

About smashleeca

I am a lot of things...a Californian, a T1 diabetic, a Crohn's pt, a daughter, friend, former athlete, forever student, blogger, worker, and most of all life-embracer. That sounds corny...but I'll leave it. I'm just your average 24 y/o girl with a story to tell. View all posts by smashleeca

Leave a Reply

