Piercings

I got my 7th piercing Wednesday…

New Piercing w/ Pump!

A navel piercing has always appealed to me. Though, I haven’t always felt the most comfortable with my tummy. I have NUMEROUS scars from my pump and a pretty short waist. But, I’m working on embracing who I am.

The pump scars are not my choice. Yes, I could change my site every two days, as recommended. Frankly, I will not spend the money to follow the regimen that tightly. As bad as it is, I’m known for wearing my pump site until it falls off or pulls out. I’m trying to get better about changing more often, but it’s not always easy.

On Tuesday evening I was talking to a friend of mine at work and was showing him my stomach. (So he could see my pump) I brought up my scars. Mike told me the scars didn’t looks so much like scars as they did spots. So, maybe I’m just a leopard? Or a human with a spotted stomach? I’ll go with the leopard…MUCH more fun.

My navel piercing will most likely be accompanied by my pump site. Until I need to move to other territories, the site will remain on either side of my belly button. Perhaps it’s odd I’d like to add more accessories to my middle section. Like I said though, I am me. Part of me is my pump. Part of me is loving piercings and tattoos.

My body is less than ideal. I have a broken pancreas, ever present bruises, PCOS, neuropathy, scars and more. My body image isn’t that great either. I should have more self confidence, loving me for me, accepting the brokeness and scarring. So, welcome to my body navel piercing…one more accessory to my tummy…and probably the most attractive looking part of it too.

Piercings and tattoos are both things I love. In addition to my piercings, I have two tattoos. They are expression, meaningful pieces of art I’ve chosen to place on my skin. My piercings haven’t had as much meaning behind them. The navel has probably held the most meaning/purpose. In addition to adding “accessories” to my body, I LOVE the feelings of getting the work done.

Most of my clothing has very few accessories, no ruffles or prints. The clothing serves a purpose more than a statement – to cover me up, keep me cool or keep me warm. Pockets are pockets. I find it somewhat odd as much as I enjoy body “accessories,” I almost as equally dislike actual accessories. Hmm.

Back to the feeling…Having the tattoo artist use the gun is almost therapeutic. Don’t get me wrong, if it’s a larger detailed piece on a sensitive area, there’s likely to be bleeding. The bleeding “wound” then has more needles with ink going into it – THAT part burns slightly. The constant tapping of the tattoo gun feels wonderful. Yes, a certain pain aspect is included, but it is a GOOD pain.

Piercings are a little different for me. It’s amazing to feel a large needle break through into your skin and out another side, then used as a guide to lead in the jewelry. It’s a fascinating experience. As a diabetic I feel I’m a bit controlling over needles. I realize I cannot do what piercers do or what the lab people do to draw blood, but I just feel comfortable being able to see what they’re doing with their needles. I watch every move. The pain experienced in piercings varies. With the navel piercing it didn’t hurt at all…I was more nervous because I couldn’t see what Aerick was doing, as I was laying on the table. I felt almost jipped, because I didn’t get to see what was happening, which holds a strong appeal for me. Nipple piercings hurt, but not badly. It was more the soreness afterward. I love the feeling of getting pierced.

I don’t know if my affection toward ink and piercings is related to my diabetes or not. I give myself so many shots and inflict pain so often that doesn’t produce beauty or an appeal. My pump is always attached, but it’s a medical accessory, not a beautiful one. Do I love piercings and tattoos because I love how it feels getting them done? YES. I just wonder if that reason comes from my own individual constant infliction of pain on my body, pain that is inflicted with very little choice. Piercings and tattoos ARE a choice…and much more attractive.

Who knows what I’ll do next. I’m sure something is down the road. In two weeks I need to talk to Aerick about the navel piercing as well as two others, maybe we’ll discuss future plans šŸ™‚

Until then we’ll just throw a welcome party to my stomach for the navel piercing! My pump won’t be lonely anymore!

About smashleeca

I am a lot of things...a Californian, a T1 diabetic, a Crohn's pt, a daughter, friend, former athlete, forever student, blogger, worker, and most of all life-embracer. That sounds corny...but I'll leave it. I'm just your average 24 y/o girl with a story to tell. View all posts by smashleeca

7 responses to “Piercings

  • Crystal

    Nice. šŸ™‚

    What kind of camera did you get?

  • Cherise

    Yikes! You are one brave woman;)

  • smashleeca

    It’s a Canon PowerShot SD1200 IS šŸ™‚ I’m SO in love with it.

    Oddly, Cherise, it didn’t really hurt. A deep breath in, put the needle through, another deep breath and the piercing followed the needle out. …I almost wish I felt it more. Though now I feel it every time I bend over…more often than I thought – haha.

  • diamond

    so i had to comment cuz i think this is really cool. i got my belly button pierced almost a month ago and i wear an insulin pump and hate my scars as well. i didnt get it to show it off obviously. i got it because it makes me happy. just thought id share

  • Jessie

    I just got my belly button pierced yesterday, AND I have a pump, too šŸ™‚ Plus, I have the leopard spots going on, too, but I’ve started using my arms and hips for my sites.

  • katlyn

    I feel the exact way u do. About the scars and my stomach. I have pcos. And many other things too. I’ve had diabetes for 16 years. And I am 18.

Leave a Reply

