Oh Crap

So, that last post…yeah, that was depressing. Sorry guys. Diabetes can do that sometimes I guess.

Here’s the quick re-cap on what happened:

Friend invited me over for dinner and a movie. Ate dinner (including deer for the first time) and watched The Hangover (which I love and needed to be recapped at the end b/c the DVD cut out and my friend hadn’t seen it haha). Got to be late, was getting ready to head home, walked to the door…then said friend asked the dreaded question…”Are your sugars okay?” Damnit. They were high. I told him they were high. He asked if he could do anything and that I could stay til they were in range again. I said water…and gave myself a hearty bolus…and peed (not standing at the door, in the bathroom, in a toilet). He got the water, I went to the restroom, then we sat on the couch. Then the chills started, then the hot flashes. The sugars went UP, the sugars went up more. I changed pump sites. 5am came around, I was asleep on his shoulder, between the every 10 minute “are you still alive checks” and while watching murder solving TV shows. He turned off the TV, went upstairs to bed, I stayed on the couch. The German Shepherd licked my face, tried to lay next to me on the couch (for the record: he did not fit…poor Max) and wanted to be petted. In the morning I was nearly checked for a pulse, thankfully I woke up before that was attempted. He started laundry, I attempted waking up (NOT a morning person). He showered, I had a glass of water to get rid of dinner/beer/sleep breath (attractive, I know). Eventually I woke up enough, my sugars were still the shit, but I had to get to work. He apologized if his food had tried to kill me, I promised it wasn’t that…things just happen. We said goodbye. I went to work, he packed for a 7week trip and left the next day. I left mortified and feeling like shit. THE END.

New friends are hard. How much do you share? Do you tell them how you really feel or just play it all down to not seem weak? Do you wait for them to ask questions or just explain?

Now that it’s been a few weeks, I’ve accepted that life happens and if this completely put my new friend off of doing anything…the friendship isn’t worth it. I don’t have such little faith in people that I expect to be “dropped” because of my “inconveniences,” I just know I’m worth the inconvenience. I didn’t get the choice to deal with T1, friends can though, and if they don’t want to accept it, that’s okay, I have more things to concern myself with than their choices. I’ll move on and find friends that don’t mind.

Anyhow, I wanted to explain…so that it didn’t seem like I’d fallen into a pit of self-pity (hahahaha, pit-pity).

Until next time 🙂

About smashleeca

I am a lot of things...a Californian, a T1 diabetic, a Crohn's pt, a daughter, friend, former athlete, forever student, blogger, worker, and most of all life-embracer. That sounds corny...but I'll leave it. I'm just your average 24 y/o girl with a story to tell. View all posts by smashleeca

2 responses to “Oh Crap

  • Jillavieve

    I struggle with the same thing when it comes to new friends and dating. I’ve found that they ask a lot of silly questions, tend to over-react at dinner parties by overly apologizing for what they cooked (which can be embarrassing), freak out if they see you drink alcohol.. etc. But, I’ve learned over my few years with the D that all that awkwardness is out of love. They care and are worried about your health (worried mostly because they are uneducated about T1). I try hard not to down play it and educate, but sometimes it’s just easier to downplay. I’ve found the more I explain, the less they over-react and the more logical their questions become. Sounds like you’ve got a great friend who cares about you and is willing to learn about the D.

  • Tina

    Sucky, plain and simply sucky! I am sorry you were put into that situation. Still, he was concerned and maybe he is just taking time to digest it all. If not, you can do better. That being said, it still sucks and being upset makes total sense. (((hugs)))

Leave a Reply

