Happy Birthday to Me

Today’s the day. I am officially 24.  So in the spirit of “another year gone by”…here’s a recap of 23:

-Grandpa died (3/13)

-Got 1st (3/13) & 2nd tattoos & 5th/6th, 7th & 8th piercings

-Got dumped on the day of my Grandpa’s funeral (April)

-Was diagnosed with the start of neuropathy (June) & started taking meds for them (September-ish)

-Started  (July) and stopped a new schooling program (November-ish)

-Fell twice (badly) in the matter of weeks (July/August) & obtained more minor injuries countless times (daily+)

-Quit one job (October)

-Started working graveyard (September) and stopped working graveyard (January)

-Stopped being covered by insurance (March) and re-started medical (March)

-Worked on some emotional issues…overcame a few and improved on a lot

-Decided to go back to school…the “academic” kind (I swear I’ll finish one day)

-Closed a page in a year and a half battle (THANK GOD!)

-Dyed my hair more times than I can count (brown, blonde, red, dark brown, blonde)

-Saw my best friend Liz for the first time in over a year (September…and again tomorrow!!!)

-Met several new friends…DOC and others

-Tried Thai food for the 1st, 2nd and 3rd times

-Applied to 83 different internships across the country (in the last few days)

-Tried new things…many (which I LOVE and is a huge goal in life for me…ALWAYS try new things)

That pretty much sums up my year. Oh wait! I ruined Thanksgiving and Christmas Eve…again. Christmas Eve was the only repeat offense…but still comical in my opinion. It’s amazing I have that much “power” to ruin entire holidays.

I think 24 will be a good year, it has great potential. Great potential also means the possibility of great heartbreak, but I am hoping for the best. It may bring a move across the country for 6 months. A definite trip to LA. A probable trip to Phoenix. Possible trips to Colorado, Tahoe and Vegas. I LOVE traveling, though a bit of a pain in the ass with diabetes, but SO worth the effort!

It’s odd that I have no feelings of “new”ness with the New Year in January. It marks nothing for me. I make no attempt at setting new goals or striving towards a specific achievement within that year’s time. Yet, when it comes to my birthday, I am all about goal setting for the year. Odd. But, not really. It would be strange to have TWO “new” beginnings within a three month time period…perhaps my method is just logical?

Also, after some reflection (which I need to work on balancing…either I think TOO much or not enough) I’ve come to the conclusion that I use writing (and blogging) as therapy when I am upset. Many of my posts are written during emotional traumatic events. First off, I don’t want to seem like a downer. Secondly, it’s only fair to share the good with the bad. So, another goal for year 24…write more often and write whatever I feel like, the GOOD and the bad.

Other goals include: losing more weight (like every other woman in the world) (my bday present to me was personal training), hike more, be successful in my attempts at college, try new foods, go new places, try new things (speed dating and pole dancing will be attempted in the next week…expect stories), be less stubborn and more smart (I am the most competitive arrogant person when it comes to competing with myself and my limits), working on my family relationships (a neverending process) and so so much more.

When I hit 25, I hope I have made some movement towards these goals. I don’t ever want to set myself up for failure and I’m really more than okay with not obtaining a goal…so long as I never become complacent. There are ALWAYS improvements to be made, always something to work on, but it’s important to accept where you’re at too. So if I know I am working on these things and moving in the right direction, awesome, I won’t be disappointed in myself. If I move backwards and don’t put in the effort, I’ll probably disappear from the world for a day or two til I get over myself and can start again. 🙂

All in all, happy new year…whenever it is you celebrate.

In other, immediate, news, WAY off topic…I would like to learn to speak “boob” I am convinced mine are trying to tell me something and we’re having communication issues. I miss my grandfather. I need to make decisions that scare me. And, my mouth hurts, throbs and is just plain sore…I need to remember not to chew anything, EVER again.

About smashleeca

I am a lot of things...a Californian, a T1 diabetic, a Crohn's pt, a daughter, friend, former athlete, forever student, blogger, worker, and most of all life-embracer. That sounds corny...but I'll leave it. I'm just your average 24 y/o girl with a story to tell. View all posts by smashleeca

2 responses to “Happy Birthday to Me

Leave a Reply

