Farewell to Tonsils…wait, isn’t it Arms?

They’re gone. After 24 years, I have lost my first fleshy body part. (In the past I have lost teeth)

The best parts of a tonsillectomy: I won’t be getting sick as often, I get some pain medication, I got to visit Missoula, my dad came to see me, LOTS of milkshakes.

The worst parts of a tonsillectomy: PAIN, unbelievable pain, you can’t do anything, you sleep all the time, I’ve gone through nearly all of my movie collection…at least once, you miss out on adventures because yours are limited to the couch/kitchen/bathroom, nothing but milkshakes and baby food.

All that being said, I’m happy to have them out. The doctor said that it’s a very good thing they’re no longer in my throat, as they were completely scarred and gross from all the infections. Today was the first day I was able to eat anything solid, and it took over an hour to finish, but YAY! Go me! I think I’ll stick to baby food and milkshakes for a few more days.

About smashleeca

I am a lot of things...a Californian, a T1 diabetic, a Crohn's pt, a daughter, friend, former athlete, forever student, blogger, worker, and most of all life-embracer. That sounds corny...but I'll leave it. I'm just your average 24 y/o girl with a story to tell. View all posts by smashleeca

One response to “Farewell to Tonsils…wait, isn’t it Arms?

Leave a Reply

