Life’s Important Questions

Life offers a lot to us. It also provokes many questions. Many people who know me would probably describe me and inquisitive. Sometimes the questions life prompts in my brain are not what many would see as important. To an extent, they’re probably not very important. But isn’t that what life’s all about, discovery, education and adventure?

Maybe the information I search for really doesn’t provide an adventure. However, maybe my knowledge of Brad Paisley’s wife being Kimberly Williams, from Father of the Bride, will provide a connection between me and a random person I meet. Maybe it won’t ever get me ahead in life, but I tend to think connections with people are important. Connection is enough of a benefit for me. This is perhaps why I have such a challenge with formal education…I like the lessons life offers more than a schoolbook. That’s a whole other discussion, which will probably never be discussed on this blog in any great depth.

So, what are the questions life has posed to me lately?

One I’ve discussed rather frequently lately: What’s my point here in Idaho? That’s not much fun to answer or search out for and really only leads to disappointment on my part.

On to more fun questions: What are certain flowers? For as long as I can remember I have wanted no part in gardening or flowers. Yet, I live with an abundance of wildflowers. It’s changed my perspective. I very much appreciate flowers in their natural environment. I still find flowers as gifts to be rather silly and pointless or growing flowers you don’t intend to care for or aren’t in their natural environment so they can never truly flourish. That’s just me though. This opinion has earned me an accusation or two that I cannot be a girl. I can guarantee I am female. I’ve learned a few noxious weeds since living here as well as some wildflowers. I can’t say I’m very good at remembering their names, but I’m diligently trying.

Where do I want to live? I’d love to live here. Maybe not out here in the middle of the forest; but definitely in this part of the country. As a native Californian I have always thought of myself from the West. Now that I am here, I realize I couldn’t be more incorrect. California is NOT the West. It’s the Pacific Coast. They are two entirely different things. I am so happy to be here and come to this realization. Because I thought I was from the West I didn’t have much of an inkling to discover the West. It could be the most beautiful place I’ve seen. You know that song with the lyrics “purple mountains majesty”? The sunset at night over the Montana mountain ranges create a purple sky and mountain. Their sunsets are not like that over the California coast or over the Arizona red rocks, but the vast sky and huge mountain ranges create a magical environment. The fields of green, the cattle, the snowtopped mountains, I could go on forever. The people here identify greatly with the West. They are passionate about their history and development. Lewis and Clark’s travels are mentioned every 10 miles along the highways. Sacagawea was born just outside of the closest town to me, Salmon…she is very celebrated here. In addition to the celebration of roots, they seem to be about 40 years behind. Yes, this means the clothing offered in town is not the most fashionable or modern and maybe I only get one option for groceries and a pharmacy. And it means the town is essentially closed on Sundays. But it also means life doesn’t pass by all too quickly. No matter where you live I think life moves faster than we can always keep up, but here they at least appreciate the pace. Not to say others don’t, it’s just takes more of a presence here.

How much do I care how I look? Very little. I don’t like to look like a bum. I like to look clean. I also very much enjoy being comfortable and efficient. For example, today I wandered outside in black knit shorts that were cut off, a decently cute olivey-green tank top, gray fleece jacket and aqua sandals. At one point I ditched the sandals and opted for fleece hard bottomed slippers. I recently purchased the best sandals in the world, Chaco’s. I hunted high and low for the perfect pair. Perfection meant I could go between wearing socks with them and not. I can honestly say, before Idaho I never, ever, wore socks with sandals…even if I was only in the house. I can also honestly say, I fully embrace the idea now. It’s a wonderful way to wear sandals. When I go into town I try to at least match, but the amount of thought that now goes into my hair/clothing/shoes is pretty limited. I don’t think I’ve ever put as much time as other women my age into my appearance, but Idaho has shortened that time even more.

Chiropractors, a do or a don’t? They’re a do, for sure! I love mine here. Not only does he do a great job and is affordable…he’s attractive. Who doesn’t like a good looking doctor? Up to this point I’ve had one good looking doctor, and he was my podiatrist. A podiatrist is not a great “good looking” doctor. He inspects and touches your smelly feet. Gross. With a chiropractor you stay fully clothed and you get a massage! Back home I grew up seeing a chiropractor. My great grandfather opened a practice, passed it down to my grandfather and mow my aunt runs the practice on her own. Over the years I’ve neglected going with any regularity. I meant to go in and see my aunt before coming out to Idaho, but never got the chance. Last month I finally made it to see my chiropractor here and went again this week. There’s almost nothing better than a comfortable back and neck. Plus, because my trips to town are rarely planned much in advance, he’s been fantastic about fitting me in when I’m there. This week I called as I was driving into town, he was about to leave for the day to work on his house but delayed his departure to see me. The last time he squeezed me in between patients. How many doctors are willing to do that for you? (This is also why I love this town, not because he’s cute, because he’s kind)

Small town or big town? I like a small town, within decent proximity to a large enough town to offer a Target/Costco/Borders/Wal-Mart. I like running into people I know. I like stopping in the bakery to have my name remembered and asked how my surgery and healing has been going. I like having an abundance of local and privately owned businesses to support. I like being able to walk the downtown area, greeting people, not needing to drive around. I love that I can stand at the corner of a street and the cars immediately stop for me to cross. I like that people offer for me to stay with them. I can even appreciate the hesitancy shown to outsiders of the town. They have not been rude and have quickly grown to accept me and others. When I got my hair cut a while back someone asked me if I knew some local and her mother, because they thought I was also a local. It was a pleasant surprise to be confused as a member of this incredibly special community. I like that I can feel at home here.

What’s it like to miss someone? I don’t think I ever wanted to experience this feeling. I miss my best friends. I am used to missing good friends though. Crystal, you’re in NY. Ashley, you’re in RI. And Liz is in Southern California. When I first moved from AZ I really missed Liz, as we had been sharing a condo. But, I feel like this is different. I know I chose to leave. And as much as I feel at home here in Idaho, I miss the things that certain people provided for me in CA. I also terribly missed my dog. I miss conversations I had with friends. I miss going out with friends. I miss cuddling with my dog. I miss the occasional lunch with my sister. I’ve never been terribly connected to anyone or anything, that’s kind of my MO. It’s an entirely new concept for me to actually miss someone or something. I guess I’m happy to know what it’s like, gives me more of a human feeling and connection. But, I don’t like missing them. The sheer amount I miss my dog is almost embarrassing. I mailed him a box of dog toys last week. It was shipped to “Rawley Stremme.” I would give almost anything to have him here with me. I can’t really figure out why it is that I miss him so much. When I lived in AZ he stayed in CA with my family. That was for two YEARS! I’ve been away for three months and I’m desperately missing him. SO weird. But, I’m working on accepting these new feelings of missing my dog and people. Obviously, I’m more comfortable discussing my missing my dog versus missing my people. I’m definitely only working on accepting…I’m not quite there yet.

What do I like to do in my free time? This is truly a legitimate question here. We have no television and limited internet access. Society is so dependent on TV and computers, it’s how most of us fill our time. What do I do here when I’m not on Twitter and blogging? I read, a lot. I used to play a lot of cards, but that’s become less frequent of an activity. I cook, nothing extravagant. I walk, because that’s the activity I’m allowed. I really like watching movies. I like yoga. It’s been an interesting question to ask myself. When the societal norms are not an option, what do you do? I like to clean and do laundry and make my house feel like a home. It’s a common joke amongst family members that I lack almost any domestic bone in my body. On Thanksgiving the women make pies the entire day before and prepare all of the food for the next day…I get sent out for ice and last minute needs. It’s odd how important it has become to me to make my environment a home. I like my home to be presentable, I like to enjoy being home, cooking in my kitchen, reading on my couch, looking out the window at my beautiful surroundings. I’ve recently become a big sleeper too, but hopefully that’ll change pretty quickly. Oh, and knitting. I never realized knitting could be so much fun!

How did the cows get onto our property? Yes, this is an odd question. I really can’t figure it out though. We have cattle guards yet a whole herd has seemed to enjoy visiting our home and is considering making our home their home. The answer to this may not be life-changing, but it certainly would make me happy.

I don’t know why I wanted to share the questions running through my head lately. Maybe it’ll be a weekly thing I do here…if I manage to stick to blogging regularly.

About smashleeca

I am a lot of things...a Californian, a T1 diabetic, a Crohn's pt, a daughter, friend, former athlete, forever student, blogger, worker, and most of all life-embracer. That sounds corny...but I'll leave it. I'm just your average 24 y/o girl with a story to tell. View all posts by smashleeca

One response to “Life’s Important Questions

  • Ashley

    I get what you’re saying about the whole missing people thing. I only live 35 minutes away from my parents and for the longest time, watching a TV show that we all like without them there felt weird. I can’t imagine what missing them will be like when I’m inevitably farther away than I am now.

    I also know what you mean about me and Crystal. You’re used to us not being around to hang out with so it’s a different kind of missing us in that we don’t really know what we’re missing by not all being able to hang out together. But we do miss not getting to chat/e-mail/tweet as often as we do. We meaning me and Crystal. My personality didn’t split. At least not yet.

    I’m going to stop before this comment takes a turn that I can’t come back from, lol.

    xoxo

Leave a Reply

