The Fit Has Hit The Shan!

Happy D-Versary Me!

I’ve never given too much thought into my d-versary. Mainly because, until a few months ago, I didn’t know the actual date of my diagnosis. I knew it was early August, but I was in a coma for a couple days so I didn’t really know the exact happenings of everything. When I was visiting my grandma in Arizona this April she nonchalantly informed me I was diagnosed on her birthday. So, Happy Birthday Grandma too!

I really can’t believe it’s been six years. It feels like I’ve grown out of the baby stage of T1. Who knows why my brain sees such a difference between five and six years, but it’s there.

Perhaps the change is the new freedom my endo has given me. He feels my numbers are good enough to not warrant his micro-managing. It was half shocking and half AWEsome to be told to just keep trekking with what I’m doing and I’m doing well. He of course is more than willing to answer any questions I have for him.

Perhaps it’s due to things feeling a bit more normal. Just doing what I do, not really thinking about it anymore?

While I no longer feel like a toddler, I certainly am always learning. And, by no means am I claiming to be some AWEsome, amazing diabetic. I’m not…I’m me.

So here’s to Year Seven…hopefully a much easier year than six. Or at least a less sick year. I’ve been sick enough this year for at least three…I think.

Boss dinner tonight with a cake (if I can make it home in time to bake it) to celebrate!

About smashleeca

I am a lot of things...a Californian, a T1 diabetic, a Crohn's pt, a daughter, friend, former athlete, forever student, blogger, worker, and most of all life-embracer. That sounds corny...but I'll leave it. I'm just your average 24 y/o girl with a story to tell. View all posts by smashleeca

One response to “The Fit Has Hit The Shan!

  • Michael Hoskins

    Great stuff! Happy Dia-versary, and here’s to hoping there are many more down the road! Of course, looking forward to hearing how Year Seven (and Beyond) goes, and seeing you around the DOC! Happy birthday to your grandma, too!

Leave a Reply

