Absotively Posilutely Almost Okay

Bum, bum, bummm….Or is it Dun, dun, dunnn?

Either way, it’s here. I survived. Well, the move isn’t here. But the last full day at home is nearing its end. My laundry is finishing up. Then I’m showering and packing up the remainder of my things.

I’m surprised I’ve handled it as well as I have, honestly. No tears in the community meeting. Only on close call today, at breakfast. I woke up to a wonderful plate of freshly baked snickerdoodle cookies and a goodbye note from my roommate who left this AM to go to Yellowstone with her family. Stephanie and I did yoga this afternoon (man am I out of shape!). I had some of my cake from last night. (I will post pictures once they’re uploaded) Everyone loved the cakes and said they were beautiful. It was nice to have dinner with everyone last night.

I have a fun “date” when I get back to CA, that’s not a date…but what do you call a plan with someone that you make ahead of time? A date, right? Tomorrow I will get to see my dog. I will be forcing him to get in the Snake River in Idaho Falls. He will be leashed so the river doesn’t brisk him away. And he’ll probably get pretty pissed off at me. But, some day he’ll thank me…how often in a dog’s life do they get the opportunity to play in the Snake River? I’ll be indulging in beer batter pancakes before leaving Salmon tomorrow as well.

Saturday night, all day Sunday and part of Monday I’ll be in Ogden, UT. It’s supposed to be nice weather this weekend and I’m looking forward to our time there. They have wonderful morning hike locations…that are dog friendly! I’ll be seeing my aunt and uncle and one of my good friends Janelle and her husband Jesse. If I remember correctly I haven’t seen Janelle or Jesse since their wedding in August 2008! And I haven’t seen my uncle since my grandfather’s funeral and my aunt since the Christmas before my grandpa died…so at least a year and half for both of them!

Plus, I can’t be excited enough to see Rawl. My baby. I have missed him so dearly. Almost to the point of ridiculousness. EVERY time I come to town I look for presents…and I order him some online from time to time, with the boxes addressed to Rawley Stremme. Yes, this time apart has turned me into one of THOSE people. The crazy, obsessed people with little dogs. I’m actually nervous about seeing him…what if he’s mad at me and doesn’t love me anymore because I left him? I heard him crying in the background while I was on the phone with my parents this evening…poor guy.

So, I have plenty to be excited about. Have I mentioned I’m cutting all my hair off on Wednesday? I’ll DEF be posting pictures of that too! School will start soon. I need to find a job…while not exciting, it certainly will occupy some time. Fundates! Hair! School! Work! Puppy! Car! Internet! There’s a lot to keep my mind focused on the positives.

At the same time I’m sad. Really sad. You all know that though…I spent enough time dwelling in it.

In the mixture of happy and sad, I’d say I’m absotively posilutely almost okay.

About smashleeca

I am a lot of things...a Californian, a T1 diabetic, a Crohn's pt, a daughter, friend, former athlete, forever student, blogger, worker, and most of all life-embracer. That sounds corny...but I'll leave it. I'm just your average 24 y/o girl with a story to tell. View all posts by smashleeca

Leave a Reply

