I Could…But I Won’t

Be an asshole. But I’m going to be an adult and not a total douchebag. I’m just going to say I’m not looking forward to this weekend. AND I’m having serious issues understanding people.

Part of me IS looking forward to the weekend though. I’m going out with an old friend of mine, Laura. Haven’t seen her in nearly a year. It should be a good time…and a much needed time to “let go.”

I try not to bring up religion here. It’s too controversial. BUT, here’s the thing, it doesn’t need to be. Why do so many religious people feel it’s necessary to confront others, bluntly, about their beliefs? Why do I need to explain myself? It’s not like I have some disease because I don’t go to church…I have diseases because my body hates me 🙂 If we could all just respect other people’s choices and beliefs…and refrain from bluntly stating YOUR correctness and other’s incorrect beliefs…religion wouldn’t be nearly as controversial.

I’m NOT looking forward to dealing with that this weekend. I am trying to hold on to the glimmering hope that it will not turn into that. Trying to believe it’ll work out without a spotlight shining in my direction. We’ll see.

Then there’s church on Sunday. I can’t recall the last time I’ve been to this church. A church where stories about me are told from the point of view of perception, not fact. It’s a bit of pressure for one day.

That wasn’t super douchebaggy or anything, right? I hope not, I truly intended to express potential concerns. :-/

About smashleeca

I am a lot of things...a Californian, a T1 diabetic, a Crohn's pt, a daughter, friend, former athlete, forever student, blogger, worker, and most of all life-embracer. That sounds corny...but I'll leave it. I'm just your average 24 y/o girl with a story to tell. View all posts by smashleeca

Leave a Reply

