ART Day!

Today was crazy busy, sorry it’s taken so long to get this up…

You’d think a simple art project would be, well, simple. The creation was…my glucometer was overflowing w/ extra strips, so I tossed those on. I had some paper scraps I didn’t want to trash, so I used them. There was a leftover tier from the cupcake tower used at my mother’s birthday party and liner, so I used that. In my search for paint, I found the sequins too. The colors match those in my room…minus the blue. But when you recycle you deal with mismatching sometimes. PLUS the strips were blue too.

The result of this project has been my sister and mother not speaking…me being accused of taking pride in hanging dried blood on my wall…as well as being accused of wasting time on a pointless art project.

Regardless of all this, I am happily displaying it on the wall of my bedroom. 🙂

About smashleeca

I am a lot of things...a Californian, a T1 diabetic, a Crohn's pt, a daughter, friend, former athlete, forever student, blogger, worker, and most of all life-embracer. That sounds corny...but I'll leave it. I'm just your average 24 y/o girl with a story to tell. View all posts by smashleeca

5 responses to “ART Day!

  • Kim

    It’s beautiful. Nice work.

  • sajabla

    I ❤ you. I'm mad at your family. I hope that's okay. Keep trying, keep applying for jobs. I've been where you are (well, close) and will probably be right back there in six months. You WILL get out of there. I promise. ❤

  • Crystal

    What she said ^.

    Love what you created. It speaks volumes. It’s beautiful, gorgeous, just like you.
    Glad you are displaying proudly. xoxoxoxo

  • Rachel

    WOW!!!! You definitely have a lot more creativity than I do!!! 🙂 That is really really nice!

  • Lee Ann Thill

    Oh no… “Pointless” and “art project” do not belong in the same sentence! I’m totally cringing that your family would even think that for a second, especially if you had fun making it and you’re proud of it! How on earth is something pointless when you get that from it?? I guess we could decide they’re just jealous of your creativity and resourcefulness in creating art out of “trash” and stuff you had around your house 😉

    I hope you can forget what they said though. I think it’s fabulous, and I hope you’ll keep it around as inspiration because the energy in it IS inspiring! I love beads and sequins and shimmery, sparkly things, so big thumbs up for incorporating those too. Thanks a million for joining the Diabetes Art Day fun. It wouldn’t have been much of a DOC project without the DOC, so I’m really grateful to you for participating 🙂

Leave a Reply

