Dear Mike Huckabee

Dear Mike Huckabee,

I hate you. You’re a moron. An ignorant asshole. A selfish, arrogant prick. And you picked the wrong damn day to announce it to the world.

I absolutely despise how I’ve allowed you to make me feel like damaged goods. Other days I may have just seen your stupidity and sloughed it off as such. But today, today is different. It’s the day after I’ve been told I have Crohn’s Disease. It’s six years and nearly two months since I was told I have Type 1 Diabetes. So, honestly one MORE chronic condition isn’t a major deal. I’ve mentally grasped the idea of having a chronic condition. I have to admit I’m not handling it as well as I thought I would, but it’s been a day so I’ll work through it. And you certainly have not been a help.

How dare you compare me to a damn burned down house! How dare you belittle my worth. I’m a person too! A person, mind you, who did nothing to deserve either damn disease! I didn’t fail to “insure” myself before I became “ruined.” I DID take care of myself, I was healthy. What was I supposed to do? Have someone knock me off because suddenly my cost of living was too expensive and my body doesn’t work perfectly?! Why the hell do we even have medical advances if the public shouldn’t be granted access? Really, shouldn’t you thank the burned down houses of the world for helping develop scientific medical advances? I mean, without people like me we’d probably have fewer jobs here in the States.

I honestly don’t want any damn credit for medical technology. What I want is to have value! Damn you for making me feel less worthy than Joe Schmo. And screw you for making me cry. And double damn you for making my acceptance of answers to the mystery of my illness so damn hard to accept! Who the hell do you think you are?!?

You make me even more ashamed than I was prior to admit to being a Republican.

Screw You and get a brain,

Ashley

In case you have NO idea what I’m talking about:
http://tpmdc.talkingpointsmemo.com/2010/09/huckabee-opposes-insurance-for-people-with-pre-existing-conditions.php

About smashleeca

I am a lot of things...a Californian, a T1 diabetic, a Crohn's pt, a daughter, friend, former athlete, forever student, blogger, worker, and most of all life-embracer. That sounds corny...but I'll leave it. I'm just your average 24 y/o girl with a story to tell. View all posts by smashleeca

Leave a Reply

