Way Back When

There isn’t much I remember about my life before D. I remember events, but it’s not like I remember specifically NOT having D. It’s only been six years, aka ALL of my “adult” life.

Last night reminded me of one of the early nights with D. I was well over 300 and was far from having any sort of understanding about ranges/corrections/ratios/ISF. I was up and feeling terrible late at night. I called the doctor, but they weren’t around in the middle of the night. At the age of 18 I didn’t feel it would be nice to call the doctor on their off hours. (I have since overcome this insecurity, they’re ON-CALL for a reason) So I stayed up sick and eventually fell asleep after a few glasses of water. It was my first week home with D.

Yesterday was my one week anniversary with a Crohn’s Disease diagnosis. All weekend I felt like crap. I managed to be somewhat productive, as long as I could fit a 3 hour nap in somewhere. Monday wasn’t a particularly eventful day…class, ASL homework, endodontist, be a test subject, drive home. I didn’t get a nap, I felt FAR worse than I had all weekend. I’ll admit it, I messed up, I had a HIGH fiber breakfast and a moderately fibrous lunch. My GI said I should try to eat fiber. I should know she didn’t mean THAT much fiber though. So, again, I sat, feeling miserable, waiting for time to tick. Calling the doctor at night doesn’t get me to MY doctor for sure and I have a new diagnosis, I’m not sure what they could even do. Today I plan on calling the office, especially if I’m not feeling any better, to talk about what to do. The prednisone has taken a serious toll on my insulin supply…from Tues-Tues I was on +60% basal rate and last night finally dropped to +50%. But the prednisone was supposed to be my saving grace. Make me feel normal again within a few days (3-4, if I remember correctly). I’m supposed to be able to eat again. NOT have issues with EVERY item I try to put in my mouth. The Pentasa is supposed to help too. The last few days it’s done nothing but get worse.

So, why didn’t I call the doctor last night? I can’t really tell you. Maybe I don’t want to be buggy, I want their help…not piss them off. Plus, how am I going to suddenly feel better? What difference does just a few hours make? Anyhow, today I have an interview, with REI. I’m pretty stoked and really hoping my body behaves.

They say “keep your friends close and your enemies closer”…well me and my body, we’re pretty dang tight.

About smashleeca

I am a lot of things...a Californian, a T1 diabetic, a Crohn's pt, a daughter, friend, former athlete, forever student, blogger, worker, and most of all life-embracer. That sounds corny...but I'll leave it. I'm just your average 24 y/o girl with a story to tell. View all posts by smashleeca

Leave a Reply

