Expecting the Unexpected

I, like most diabetics and people with Crohn’s, have come to accept you need to expect the unexpected. Yet sometimes life throws you such a curve ball that it’s more than unexpected. In reality I guess it’s not more, but it seem unfathomable.

This week has been going on for the last month…or at least it feels that way.

My mother’s stroke has kind of just blown everyone out of the water. I don’t think anyone in my family, including my mother, has quite grasped the magnitude of the situation. It’s hard to look at someone who looks exactly the same, but seeing differences and knowing they’re not really who they were just a few days ago.

No one’s relationship with their parents is perfect. Though I’d venture to say that my and my mother’s relationship has been a bit more strained than most. I love her and always will, she’s my mom. It scares me to see the person she has been since coming home from the hospital, the change in her demeanor and personality – just frightening. Not frightening in the way that you’re afraid for your safety, but frightening that I’m not sure how and if my family can handle the changes in the long run. No one knows if it’s permanent or short term, but I guess that’s life…you never know.

The only thing you can know is it’s best to expect the unexpected.

About smashleeca

I am a lot of things...a Californian, a T1 diabetic, a Crohn's pt, a daughter, friend, former athlete, forever student, blogger, worker, and most of all life-embracer. That sounds corny...but I'll leave it. I'm just your average 24 y/o girl with a story to tell. View all posts by smashleeca

Leave a Reply

