You Can’t Escape Reality For Too Long

It seems there’s always something to say with diabetes and Crohn’s. So, no hair talk today. Just plain and simple health jabber. Though, I wouldn’t say it’s simple at all, when it comes to me…my health is rarely simple. Diabetes and Crohn’s make that a near impossibility.

My root canal is complete. They’re not sure if it’s successful. They won’t be able to determine its success until they try to put a crown over it. If it’s failed, the tooth will ooze some kind of substance. If it fails, I need it removed. They’re hoping a couple more days will eliminate the infection on the side of my gum. I have my doubts, it’s been there for 3 years and I’ve been on numerous rounds of antibiotics. The crown is going to cost $831. I have NO idea how I’m going to come up with that.

I called my GI office Tuesday and they’d like me to come in because of the bleeding. I go tomorrow, Thursday. Not really sure what they want to do, I was there last week.

Thursday was supposed to be my endo appointment. Since I don’t really have a dire need of going, in the grand scheme of things, I moved it to February 7th. Hopefully by then I’ll have a paycheck so I can afford my $40 copay.

Financial/family stress is a bit high. They are burdened, as I have no means to paying for my health needs. They did say they’d help me, when I came back, but it’s still been a burden. Their apparent burden burdens me. I know I’m getting help my sister isn’t getting. I know they have their own financial needs to meet. I know they don’t appreciate western medicine the same way I need it. I know they don’t approve of my medical choices. It makes me appreciate their help more, but it makes me feel even worse for accepting it.

Breathe in, breathe out. One day at a time, things will change…they sure as hell better improve when they do too. Or at least I really, really hope they do 🙂

About smashleeca

I am a lot of things...a Californian, a T1 diabetic, a Crohn's pt, a daughter, friend, former athlete, forever student, blogger, worker, and most of all life-embracer. That sounds corny...but I'll leave it. I'm just your average 24 y/o girl with a story to tell. View all posts by smashleeca

Leave a Reply

