Milk

I LOVE milk. LOVE.

Sadly milk has SO many hormones now days and unless you’re buying local (and can afford the price tag) you really don’t know the conditions of the dairy cows. So I’m trying some alternatives.

Back in high school I was a big soy milk fan. But, there’s a higher level of estrogen in soy milk and some studies have linked it to a risk of breast cancer. There have been a number of women in my family, mostly cousins, who’ve had breast cancer, so I just stopped drinking it. Regular milk doesn’t bug my system too badly, as long as it’s 1% or 2%. In ID we brought soy out on hitches b/c it would stay cool enough in the cold weather whereas milk wasn’t as easy to transport.

Monday afternoon I went to Trader Joe’s and picked up three different options.

#1 – Almond Milk – plain – less hormones/mild flavor/protein/low fat

#2 – Soy Milk – plain – I know I like it/protein/low fat/helps lessen fat absorption in foods

#3 – Hemp Milk – plain – mother said it tastes good/she heard good things about it

We’ll see how it goes, I may try one at a time or maybe in a rotation?

I’m hoping the elimination of wheat and most gluten will help me feel a little better and find better balance between T1 and Crohn’s. I’m tired of being tired all the time. Here’s to hoping!

About smashleeca

I am a lot of things...a Californian, a T1 diabetic, a Crohn's pt, a daughter, friend, former athlete, forever student, blogger, worker, and most of all life-embracer. That sounds corny...but I'll leave it. I'm just your average 24 y/o girl with a story to tell. View all posts by smashleeca

Leave a Reply

