Root Canal From Hell – Pt. Gazillionth

I was blessed with good teeth. I didn’t start going to the dentist until I was maybe 8 or 9 and I’ve always loved going. The feeling of nice polished teeth is wonderful. Never had any cavities and I’m a compulsive teeth brusher…sometimes more than 5x in a day. …yeah it’s weird, I don’t know why I do it.

Right before I was diagnosed with diabetes I had my braces removed. It was the plan to have my wisdom teeth removed in the first few weeks of August. I was diagnosed on August 4th. The crazy blood sugars and naturopathic medicine insanity prevented that from ever happening.

I moved to Arizona 9 months after dx and could never afford the extra money to go see the dentist. So in my two years living in the desert I went denistless. My move back to California is not something I usually go into great detail about, but it was a traumatic time. But, in October-November I was in so much pain from my wisdom teeth I went to get it checked out. At the time I was working 18 hours a day 7 days a week, so I didn’t have much time to go worry about it. Then I stopped working. And then when I started working again I spent my money on diabetes-related things and didn’t worry too much about the pain.

That takes me up til Fall 2008. In Summer 2009 I was in HORRENDOUS pain. First they took out the one badly infected and were hoping the pain would go away with the removal of the pressure on the root of its neighbor. They also found my first cavities at that visit…I think I had 6 or 8 of them! March last year I needed the rest of them removed. In April I moved to Idaho. In August I came back…but had already maxed out my dental insurance for the year. They had run a test to see if I needed a root canal done and they determined it was necessary, but I couldn’t afford an out-of-pocket root canal.

January rolled around and the root canal saga began…

First too infected to even attempt one, so off I went with a week’s worth of antibiotics

Second they couldn’t finish because it was still too infected, so I went off with another week’s worth of antibiotics, but stronger this time

Thirdly I called and said I was still swollen, but I hadn’t completed the round of antibiotics yet so they said it was okay

And yesterday I went back in because I’m still swollen and my ability to painlessly chew is diminishing daily

So, new plan…

Take 800MG tabs of ibuprofen every 6hrs until Monday. If the pain is still there after being on an anti-inflammatory, I’ll need the tooth removed. They’ll pull it and do a bone graft to prevent bone damage. The dentist feels pretty badly for me it seems, she keeps telling me how awful she feels about me losing a tooth this early in life. She said if I was 50 she’d have already pulled it.

The new plan is okay I suppose. Ibuprofen is not a major fan of my intestines. They like to argue and it’s usually a bloody fight. The whole timing of my dentist appointment was off so I wasn’t able to talk to my GI regarding the meds by 5p to ask for the best anti-inflammatory. But, I’m hoping four days of ibuprofen can’t do anything too terrible? I would like to just have the stupid thing out, I’m tired of messing with it and it making such a mess of my sugars and my intestines. BUT, I am only 24, so I’ll diligently do everything I can to save the stupid thing.

I’ve taken three doses thus far…it’s not doing much for me. It’s not that far along though, so maybe it will by some miracle work.

Now that I’ve had so many issues and they’ve been inside the tooth and have seen its reactions, they have a better idea of what caused the death. The stupid first wisdom tooth. But it’s not really the wisdom tooth’s fault, I’m blaming the big fat liar diabetes. I’m not bitter about getting diabetes when I did, because there are a lot of good things about not being diagnosed until after high school. The timing just sucked and then I gave diabetes too much undivided attention and didn’t diligently maintain other parts of my body.

Ahem…like say, my not taking Pentasa as directed because I could save the $50 so I could take care of diabetes things.

But really, how much medical crap can one person handle? I can’t spend any more time in doctor’s offices. It’s so easy to fall into dealing with medical issues only when they become unavoidable. Even my sister is of the same mentality. When we first started talking “teeth” a couple months ago she told me I have much more pressing medical issues to take care of first. I obviously have to have priorities, though giving non-life-threatening some tending to is important too.

After my teeth get squared away, I have to get my eyes checked out. I was supposed to have my annual checkup in November. Maybe by March/April I’ll have verified healthy eyes.

That is if I haven’t messed up THIS tooth’s neighbor too. They told me it was a possibility. I’d really like to avoid having another root canal done.

Oddly enough, despite all the bullshit that’s gone on with my mouth I still love going to the dentist. Is that a bit twisted?

About smashleeca

I am a lot of things...a Californian, a T1 diabetic, a Crohn's pt, a daughter, friend, former athlete, forever student, blogger, worker, and most of all life-embracer. That sounds corny...but I'll leave it. I'm just your average 24 y/o girl with a story to tell. View all posts by smashleeca

One response to “Root Canal From Hell – Pt. Gazillionth

Leave a Reply

