DAY 1: Admiring our Differences

I can’t remember when the JDRF walk was in San Francisco, presumably the Fall/Winter since I remember it raining. Anyhow, it was the first time I met up with Jess and A. Jess had been “following” Meri on Twitter, so she was looking forward to meeting up with her too. I hadn’t known Meri, but it was great to meet her and her family.

I don’t read blogs as frequently as I’d like or as I should…or even as I used to. But when I get the chance to catch up, I usually make a trip over to Our Diabetic Life.

Coming from a family where my diabetes is not acknowledged, I think Meri’s family is amazing. I am in awe of every parent of a diabetic who gets involved with their kid’s diabetes. Having been diagnosed after high school, I didn’t know that many kids with diabetes, so I haven’t known many parents either. It’s amazing to see diabetes accepted into a family’s life, to see it integrated into their daily lives.

Having met Meri, her four sons and her husband, I love to read the blog. Seeing how a family can adapt to and accept diabetes is, there’s just no other word for it, amazing.

About smashleeca

I am a lot of things...a Californian, a T1 diabetic, a Crohn's pt, a daughter, friend, former athlete, forever student, blogger, worker, and most of all life-embracer. That sounds corny...but I'll leave it. I'm just your average 24 y/o girl with a story to tell. View all posts by smashleeca

One response to “DAY 1: Admiring our Differences

Leave a comment