Day 3: Diabetes Bloopers

In my early pump days I was not incredibly “with it”…

It was right after I had gotten my very first pump, I believe my first or second day. It was a MiniMed Paradigm 715…NOT waterproof. It was April, the only time you can lay out in the sun, by the pool, in Phoenix for any length of time. I was on the phone with a friend from California and wasn’t really thinking. I set my towel down on one of the lounge chairs, stayed on the phone and walked into the pool. About 20mins after wading my phone conversation was coming to an end, as was my entertainment in the pool. I took two steps up the stairs and realized my pump was still attached! Then I was running high, and there were water droplets in the see-through area. I called Medtronic and they sent me a pump the very next day! I felt like such a moron!

I had just moved in with a new roommate, I was rushing out the door to get to my night shift…a VERY busy Friday night. I took a shower, had removed my pump (I never made a water mistake again with my good old MM…unless you count sweat, but that’s a diff story) and rushed out the door. I get to work get all the workers working in the right places…and realize my pump is not attached!!! In traffic, on a Friday night, it took about 40mins to get to my work. It was NOT a convenient trip to make. My brand new roommate, and now best friend, drove up and gave it to me. I don’t know what I would have done without her help! My boss would have killed me!

About smashleeca

I am a lot of things...a Californian, a T1 diabetic, a Crohn's pt, a daughter, friend, former athlete, forever student, blogger, worker, and most of all life-embracer. That sounds corny...but I'll leave it. I'm just your average 24 y/o girl with a story to tell. View all posts by smashleeca

One response to “Day 3: Diabetes Bloopers

Leave a Reply

