One Great Thing – Diabetes Blog Week 2012

Once great thing? Well, I guess there’s a better day to ask this question. You know when you have those days where you feel like there’s nothing you do right? Yeah, today is one of those. I guess it’s the perfect day to try to find something that IS going right.

I do a really good job of…

Monitoring my blood sugars. If my Dexcom comes back with something funky, I’m pretty good at checking. To be honest, this is a newly developed strength. A couple weeks ago I was not doing this, I was trusting good ol’ Dex far too much. I corrected for the 300+ Dexcom had alerted me of, only to find out I really was around 140. Since then…I’ve been an all-star checker. Also since then, Dex has been right on, like within 20 points.

My hope is I won’t go back to trusting so easily what my Dexcom reports, even though it has been so correct. Not only does it help prevent my scarfing down whatever is in front of my face when I realize I’m not that high, it makes my endocrinologist happy.

I have a new endocrinologist. Not that I was all that fond of my previous endocrinologist, but it was a functional relationship. Now I’m in an all new one, developing trust, figuring out how we are going to work together. I have to get re-approved for my Dexcom. I have had some insulin changes due to the lack of my new insurance regularly using Apidra and Levemir. And I now have new coverage for my pump and supplies.

I have to be on top of checking my blood sugars. I have to prove I know what I’m doing and can take care of myself without being hovered…again. …I miss my Montana Endo.

About smashleeca

I am a lot of things...a Californian, a T1 diabetic, a Crohn's pt, a daughter, friend, former athlete, forever student, blogger, worker, and most of all life-embracer. That sounds corny...but I'll leave it. I'm just your average 24 y/o girl with a story to tell. View all posts by smashleeca

Leave a comment